Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 140 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#21
Okay! "rootme" is the password!!! and I have to disable the auto-capitalization when typing it in.
Now there has been much text on the screen, among which "failed" was one of the words. Then text disappeared and I got: "GNU nano 2.2 New Buffer Modified" at the top and then blank screen.
What am I doing with this get nano, by the way? And do we know why N9 starts to fail to index pictures in the first place? I think it shouldn't happen that a user needs to use developer mode, which I never used on the N9 before.
Thanks!
 
AMD's Avatar
Posts: 1,390 | Thanked: 710 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Beirut, Lebanon
#22
Originally Posted by Discoveryellow View Post
Okay! "rootme" is the password!!! and I have to disable the auto-capitalization when typing it in.
Now there has been much text on the screen, among which "failed" was one of the words. Then text disappeared and I got: "GNU nano 2.2 New Buffer Modified" at the top and then blank screen.
What am I doing with this get nano, by the way? And do we know why N9 starts to fail to index pictures in the first place? I think it shouldn't happen that a user needs to use developer mode, which I never used on the N9 before.
Thanks!
Then your user-dirs.dirs is corrupted. You need to replace it with a new one.
and dev mode is made for the end-users who are even afraid to look or open such apps as terminal and the peoe who want those can activate dev mode. It is just a secure way to use it. I know this from Mrs. jen
__________________
Twitter: @ahmadmdaher

Originally Posted by Dave999
I will vote AMD for president next time if I'm having any shares during next meeting.


Do good for a human being and like my art page!

Last edited by AMD; 2012-12-20 at 16:09.
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#23
Discoveryellow,

You don't need to use nano to check the file; that's for editing it...

Do this in terminal and post the output:
Code:
cat /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs
Basically you need to ensure your output matches the below and no if not in open mode no devel-su for /home/user/ files:
Code:
~ $ cat /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs 
# This file is written by xdg-user-dirs-update
# If you want to change or add directories, just edit the line you're
# interested in. All local changes will be retained on the next run
# Format is XDG_xxx_DIR="$HOME/yyy", where yyy is a shell-escaped
# homedir-relative path, or XDG_xxx_DIR="/yyy", where /yyy is an
# absolute path. No other format is supported.
# 
XDG_DESKTOP_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"
XDG_DOWNLOAD_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Downloads"
XDG_TEMPLATES_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"
XDG_PUBLICSHARE_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"
XDG_DOCUMENTS_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Documents"
XDG_MUSIC_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Music"
XDG_PICTURES_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Pictures"
XDG_VIDEOS_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Movies"

Last edited by thedead1440; 2012-12-20 at 16:11.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
AMD's Avatar
Posts: 1,390 | Thanked: 710 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Beirut, Lebanon
#24
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
Discoveryellow,

You don't need to use nano to check the file; that's for editing it...

Do this in terminal and post the output:
Code:
cat /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs
I wanted him to fix it so I used nano.
__________________
Twitter: @ahmadmdaher

Originally Posted by Dave999
I will vote AMD for president next time if I'm having any shares during next meeting.


Do good for a human being and like my art page!
 
Posts: 140 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#25
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
Discoveryellow,

You don't need to use nano to check the file; that's for editing it...

Do this in terminal and post the output:
Code:
cat /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs
Okay I am getting a bit lost in all the options here. I have tried the solution by @AMD
"devel-su
rootme
apt-get install nano
nano /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs"

But that didn't get my problem resolved, although it seems I have installed something on my phone (it said "installing" this and "failed" that in the code)

Now I tried the solution above and get the following result...

Code:
BusyBox v1.20.0.git (MeeGo 3:1.20-0.2+0m8) built-in shell (ash)

Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.


~ $ cat /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs

# This file is written by xdg-user-dirs-update

# If you want to change or add directories, just edit the line you're

# interested in. All local changes will be retained on the next run

# Format is XDG_xxx_DIR="$HOME/yyy", where yyyis a shell-escaped

# homedir-relative path, or XDG_xxx_DIR="/yyy", where /yyy is an

# absolute path. No other format is supported.

#

XDG_DESKTOP_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"

XDG_DOWNLOAD_DIR="$HOME/"

XDG_TEMPLATES_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"

XDG_PUBLICSHARE_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"

XDG_DOCUMENTS_DIR="$HOME/"

XDG_MUSIC_DIR="$HOME/"

XDG_PICTURES_DIR="$HOME/"

XDG_VIDEOS_DIR="$HOME/"

~ $
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#26
Discoveryellow,

As you can see your output differs from mine meaning you have to change your file to reflect the same as what I had posted... Use your favourite text editor to make the changes and then reboot to see if the changes stuck...

Once the changes stuck, transfer all your media to your PC, delete them from phone, reboot and then transfer them back to your phone... They should all be detected now
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 140 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#27
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
Discoveryellow,

As you can see your output differs from mine meaning you have to change your file to reflect the same as what I had posted... Use your favourite text editor to make the changes and then reboot to see if the changes stuck...

Once the changes stuck, transfer all your media to your PC, delete them from phone, reboot and then transfer them back to your phone... They should all be detected now
Thanks! It works great now!
Wow, it's like the duh! moment as this solution so simple to apply:

In Filebox app locate the file at address /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs and make sure it looks like this, and if not copy to MyDocs folder (via Filebox) and then edit with a computer via USB and then copy back and overwrite again with Filebox. It works!

~ $ cat /home/user/.config/user-dirs.dirs
# This file is written by xdg-user-dirs-update
# If you want to change or add directories, just edit the line you're
# interested in. All local changes will be retained on the next run
# Format is XDG_xxx_DIR="$HOME/yyy", where yyy is a shell-escaped
# homedir-relative path, or XDG_xxx_DIR="/yyy", where /yyy is an
# absolute path. No other format is supported.
#
XDG_DESKTOP_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"
XDG_DOWNLOAD_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Downloads"
XDG_TEMPLATES_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"
XDG_PUBLICSHARE_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs"
XDG_DOCUMENTS_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Documents"
XDG_MUSIC_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Music"
XDG_PICTURES_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Pictures"
XDG_VIDEOS_DIR="$HOME/MyDocs/Movies"
 
Posts: 140 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#28
Quick follow up how do I undo the earlier attempt at solution where I rooter the device and installed nano?
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#29
Originally Posted by Discoveryellow View Post
Quick follow up how do I undo the earlier attempt at solution where I rooter the device and installed nano?
Two things:

1) You didn't root your device... devel-su with password rootme is default for all n9s... Its called root not in Android terms but in GNU Linux terms whereby root gives you escalated privileges over user to modify system files or anything higher than the /home/user/ partition...


2) Developer mode gave you the terminal; you can disable developer mode if you want to remove whatever it installed including nano. In reality, nano is an integrated text editor in terminal which is an alternative to the built-in vi(m). You can choose to keep developer mode and remove nano by typing in terminal as root "apt-get purge nano". The file you edited by plugging into PC could be edited in nano too saving the time to transfer to ~/MyDocs, plug into PC, edit and transfer back to origin... However, that's an individual preference so feel free to do what suits you better
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 235 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#30
Just formatted/cheers my n9 which was a great move as its now working so much better, but...

i copied all mg photos, when i put them back in the dicm coder or what ever its called they are not showing up in the phone gallery .

why not?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:30.