Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 882 | Thanked: 1,310 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#21
Originally Posted by luca View Post
I copied the en_US locale to es_ES and now I see something
Thanks for notifying this, pretty serious bug I'll fix this tonight. You could also translate it in spanish and send me the locales

EDIT: should now be fixed. To update server: ./scripts/update && ./knots restart and then start knots and select Check for updates from the menu after you have connected.

Last edited by ukki; 2008-10-13 at 18:31.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ukki For This Useful Post:
luca's Avatar
Posts: 1,137 | Thanked: 402 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Catalunya
#22
Another couple of things:
  • it chokes with channels with an & in the name (streamdev correctly escapes them with & )

    Code:
    Illegal character '&' in raw string "CHASSE & PECHE"
    Line:
    Position:
    Last 80 unconsumed characters:
    </a> <a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S13.0E-318-15900-204+1">()</a> </li>^M
    
    Backtrace:
    
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/parsers/treeparser.rb:89:in `parse'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/document.rb:190:in `build'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/document.rb:45:in `initialize'
    /home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:199:in `new'
    /home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:199:in `scan_dir'
    /home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:92:in `each'
    /home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:92:in `scan_dir'
    /home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:57:in `scan'
    ./lib/server.rb:39:in `call'
    ./lib/server.rb:39:in `serve'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:211:in `start'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:208:in `initialize'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:208:in `new'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:208:in `start'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:198:in `initialize'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:198:in `new'
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:198:in `start'
    ./knots:20:in `start'
    ./knots:12:in `detach'
    ./knots:10:in `fork'
    ./knots:10:in `detach'
    ./knots:70
  • I don't like to see individual vdr files (I know nothing about perl but I added something to mediaserv to show a single recording, I know even less about ruby though, so I won't do it)
  • not a problem with knots (maybe vlc, I don't know), but it's easily fooled if a recording changes aspect ratio, it seems it decides it based on the beginning of the recording. This somewhat spoils my recordings of the avengers on bbc4 (they're 4:3 but the preceding programme is 16:9)

Since it cannot parse channels.conf, I cannot say how it manages live-view.

Does it handle dvb subtitles either/or with live view/recordings?
 
Posts: 882 | Thanked: 1,310 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#23
Originally Posted by luca View Post
Another couple of things:
  • it chokes with channels with an & in the name (streamdev correctly escapes them with &amp; )
  • I don't like to see individual vdr files (I know nothing about perl but I added something to mediaserv to show a single recording, I know even less about ruby though, so I won't do it)
  • not a problem with knots (maybe vlc, I don't know), but it's easily fooled if a recording changes aspect ratio, it seems it decides it based on the beginning of the recording. This somewhat spoils my recordings of the avengers on bbc4 (they're 4:3 but the preceding programme is 16:9)

Since it cannot parse channels.conf, I cannot say how it manages live-view.

Does it handle dvb subtitles either/or with live view/recordings?
Yes, I pretty much knew it wouldn't go through the xml-parser, but I'll add entity escape so it has a better shot at it. I'd need to parse the html myself for better results. But I can work on that. Don't lose your hope yet

I tried adding all recording files to a playlist, but it still stops the streaming when it changes it so it's pretty much useless. It's not that annoying to select the 001.vdr and 002.vdr imo

As for the aspect ratio, that's a VLC thing. Maybe you can make a different transcode profile for those?

If streamdev-server shows the subtitles, then they work with knots. It just streams the http stream through VLC.

Did VDR metadata show up ok?

EDIT: Try updating the server and see where it stops next. Can you contact me some other way with these vdr issues?

Last edited by ukki; 2008-10-13 at 19:49.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ukki For This Useful Post:
luca's Avatar
Posts: 1,137 | Thanked: 402 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Catalunya
#24
Originally Posted by ukki View Post
If streamdev-server shows the subtitles, then they work with knots. It just streams the http stream through VLC.
I'll have to check, but I don't think so. What about recordings?

Originally Posted by ukki View Post
Did VDR metadata show up ok?
The summary showed ok, other details (languages, subtitles) didn't show.

Originally Posted by ukki View Post
EDIT: Try updating the server and see where it stops next. Can you contact me some other way with these vdr issues?
I still had to copy the locales (the update prompted me to delete es_ES and I did, later I'll try to do a translation), and it stops here:

Code:
Missing end tag for 'a' (got "li")
Line:
Position:
Last 80 unconsumed characters:
^M <li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29963">CADENA DIAL</a>
Line:
Position:
Last 80 unconsumed characters:
^M <li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29963">CADENA DIAL</a>

Backtrace:

/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/parsers/treeparser.rb:89:in `parse'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/document.rb:190:in `build'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/document.rb:45:in `initialize'
/home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:199:in `new'
/home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:199:in `scan_dir'
/home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:92:in `each'
/home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:92:in `scan_dir'
/home/vdr/kserver/lib/components/scanner.rb:57:in `scan'
./lib/server.rb:39:in `call'
./lib/server.rb:39:in `serve'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:211:in `start'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:208:in `initialize'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:208:in `new'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:208:in `start'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:198:in `initialize'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:198:in `new'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/gserver.rb:198:in `start'
./knots:20:in `start'
./knots:12:in `detach'
./knots:10:in `fork'
./knots:10:in `detach'
./knots:65
The html around that line seems fine to me (the funny thing is these are radio channels I don't care about ):

Code:
<li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29965">MÁXIMA FM</a> <a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29965+1"
()</a> </li>
<li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29964">RADIOLÉ</a> <a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29964+1">
()</a> </li>
<li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29963">CADENA DIAL</a> <a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29963+1">
()</a> </li>
<li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29962">CARACOL TV</a> <a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29962+1">
(esl)</a> </li>
<li><a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29961">ECUAVISA INT</a> <a href="http://192.168.10.13:3000/PS/S19.2E-1-1056-29961+1">
(esl)</a> </li>
If you don't like following this thread (I also find forums clumsy), I can contact you by private email, OTOH others may chime in if we follow up here.

Now I'll go watching some recording (not with the tablet ) so I won't follow-up until tomorrow.
 
sachin007's Avatar
Posts: 2,041 | Thanked: 1,066 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Houston
#25
Is there anything like this for windows?
 
Posts: 882 | Thanked: 1,310 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#26
Originally Posted by sachin007 View Post
Is there anything like this for windows?
Orb and TVersity are the only ones that come to mind.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ukki For This Useful Post:
Posts: 882 | Thanked: 1,310 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#27
Luca, can you update the server and try the vdr category. And remember to update the client too, that should fix your locale problem.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ukki For This Useful Post:
luca's Avatar
Posts: 1,137 | Thanked: 402 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Catalunya
#28
The client tells me there's no update available, I still have the locale problem.
Attached is a quick hack (due to my non existent understanding of ruby) to at least get a limited channel list.
Initially the server threw an exception due to the empty extra token, then it died with no exception after some channels (I suppose it was left without memory), I limited them to 1000 and I think the client had problem with that, so I limited them to 100, then it choked on the epg.
Now I get a channel list (with a duplicate for each language even when it's empty) but it doesn't "play" and this is the only thing in the log
Code:
[2008-10-14-21:13:06] Request: /vlc/play?client_id=fe0161ebe712a8ebbf42c6da127ccf1a&locale=es_ES&name=RAI1&profile=N800&type=channel&subtitle=-&filename=http%3A%2F%
2F192.168.10.13%3A3000%2Fhttp%3A%2F%2F192.168.10.13%3A3000%2FPS%2FS13.0E-318-5200-3401&path=%2FTelevision from ventosino.ventoso.local:59987
[2008-10-14-21:13:17] Request: /vlc/position?client_id=fe0161ebe712a8ebbf42c6da127ccf1a&locale=es_ES from ventosino.ventoso.local:59990
[2008-10-14-21:13:17] Request: /vlc/stop_playing?client_id=fe0161ebe712a8ebbf42c6da127ccf1a&locale=es_ES from ventosino.ventoso.local:59991
I think there's a lot of work to do to make it work (and even with just 100 channlels without epg it takes more than 10 seconds to retrieve them) and I don't think it's worth it (frankly the tablet sucks wrt video)
Attached Files
File Type: gz mydiff.gz (811 Bytes, 179 views)
 
Posts: 882 | Thanked: 1,310 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#29
Originally Posted by luca View Post
The client tells me there's no update available, I still have the locale problem.
Attached is a quick hack (due to my non existent understanding of ruby) to at least get a limited channel list.
Initially the server threw an exception due to the empty extra token, then it died with no exception after some channels (I suppose it was left without memory), I limited them to 1000 and I think the client had problem with that, so I limited them to 100, then it choked on the epg.
Now I get a channel list (with a duplicate for each language even when it's empty) but it doesn't "play" and this is the only thing in the log
Code:
[2008-10-14-21:13:06] Request: /vlc/play?client_id=fe0161ebe712a8ebbf42c6da127ccf1a&locale=es_ES&name=RAI1&profile=N800&type=channel&subtitle=-&filename=http%3A%2F%
2F192.168.10.13%3A3000%2Fhttp%3A%2F%2F192.168.10.13%3A3000%2FPS%2FS13.0E-318-5200-3401&path=%2FTelevision from ventosino.ventoso.local:59987
[2008-10-14-21:13:17] Request: /vlc/position?client_id=fe0161ebe712a8ebbf42c6da127ccf1a&locale=es_ES from ventosino.ventoso.local:59990
[2008-10-14-21:13:17] Request: /vlc/stop_playing?client_id=fe0161ebe712a8ebbf42c6da127ccf1a&locale=es_ES from ventosino.ventoso.local:59991
I think there's a lot of work to do to make it work (and even with just 100 channlels without epg it takes more than 10 seconds to retrieve them) and I don't think it's worth it (frankly the tablet sucks wrt video)
Indeed the amount of channels is just too much to handle and it would require a lot of work to somehow split them to smaller parts. I'll change the parsing back to rexml, it's just so much cleaner. REXML sometimes failed to parse a bigger channel list although I saw no error in html syntax so it's not ideal either. But I think most people will have way less channels than you And you can watch almost live-tv if you start to record the show you want to watch and then stream that

I guess you need to change the streamdev stream to ts to be able to watch it. I guess the epg data fetching via telnet worked ok for you? I wonder if it's possible to generate the streamdev urls from that info making the html-parsing unnecessary.

Last edited by ukki; 2008-10-14 at 19:54.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ukki For This Useful Post:
luca's Avatar
Posts: 1,137 | Thanked: 402 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Catalunya
#30
Originally Posted by ukki View Post
I guess you need to change the streamdev stream to ts to be able to watch it.
In scanner.rb I appended TS to the request url so streamdev returns the TS urls for the channels, but I still see nothing.
Originally Posted by ukki View Post
I guess the epg data fetching via telnet worked ok for you? I wonder if it's possible to generate the streamdev urls from that info making the html-parsing unnecessary.
The data fetching worked, but it gave an error adding the info to the channels (that's why I removed it).
Anyway, it would work only if you have epg for a channel, if there's no epg (channel not tuned after the last current/next epg) you cannot tune to the channel since you'd get no listing for it.
 
Reply

Tags
knots, linux, os x, streaming, video


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:16.