Hi guys,

I'm a newbie with this device. I've just bought it a month ago and i rarely use it. I want to use this device to make Skype call from my university VPN (it's PPTP VPN), and I found out that i have to patch this device to bring those capabilities on board.

I've searched this forum around and found clues on how to make it possible. But since i'm not very familiar with maemo or linux environment, i have a hard time to execute those instructions. I'm really sorry if i missed threads on how to do this and make somekind of double posting. I've tried everthing I can and it's fuitless.

I've been successful on installing OS2007HE on n770 and making Skype call over unsecured wireless (in my home), and I was really happy that time .

My next step was to install PPTP kernel patch from Fanoush. To do this, i installed VMWare Viewer on my Vista 64 laptop and use Ubuntu virtual machine. I downloaded flasher-30 from nokia and zImage-su-18-200625-crypto image from fanoush's maemo page. But unfortunately, after i flash that kernel to my n770, it was rebboting all time.

I tried to debug that reboot problem by switching back to OS2006 (because i think that the zImage is meant for OS2006, not OS2007HE) and then flash the zImage kernel to it from VMWare. But still no luck. The flasher keep prompting "Suitable USB device not found. waiting" even when i'd already rebooted my n770 over and over again.

So the questions are:
1. Was i doing what i'm supposed to do?
2. What causing the "never ending reebot" problem"? Is it because i executed flasher from Virtual Machine (VMWare Viewer)?
3. What i'm supposed to do? I mean, what step by step do i have to do? or do you know which threads do i have to read (i might missed that)?

Thanks in advance...
Aditya

Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic