Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Zürich, Switzerland
#1
Hi,

I am trying to ssh into my Nokia N900 but it fails. I set up usb0 and made sure that wireless is turned on:

Trying to access the N900 from my laptop I get the following message:

Code:
schm@epithalamus:~$ ssh root@192.168.254.219
ssh: connect to host 192.168.254.219 port 22: No route to host
The same happens when trying to access it via USB:

Code:
schm@epithalamus:~$ ssh root@192.168.2.15
ssh: connect to host 192.168.2.15 port 22: No route to host
Any ideas how to fix this?
joschum
 
hawaii's Avatar
Posts: 1,030 | Thanked: 792 times | Joined on Jun 2009
#2
I am actually experiencing this also.

I have verified SSHd is running, confirmed the IP address of the N900 on my WLAN, and also confirmed connectivity. I can get a secure shell on the N900 from loopback, localhost and the internal LAN address when SSH'ing directly on the device.

I just can't hit it from any other machine. I am running down ssh configs right now to see if anything randomly changed.
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#3
looks like a problem with your ip address setup / routing

on your n900 issue the following commands as root and post the output:

cat /etc/ssh/sshd_config
route
ifconfig -a

on your computer from which you are trying to connect, issue:

ifconfig -a
route, or route print, or ip route show
 
b666m's Avatar
Posts: 1,090 | Thanked: 476 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Ingolstadt, Germany
#4
try (while connected to the phone)

ifconfig usb0 down
ifconfig usb0 up

then try to ssh in again
 
hawaii's Avatar
Posts: 1,030 | Thanked: 792 times | Joined on Jun 2009
#5
For some reason I am experiencing decay on WiFi. I open a constant ping session on the N900 to my workstation, and everything works fine.
 
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Zürich, Switzerland
#6
Originally Posted by flya320 View Post
looks like a problem with your ip address setup / routing

on your n900 issue the following commands as root and post the output:

cat /etc/ssh/sshd_config
route
ifconfig -a

on your computer from which you are trying to connect, issue:

ifconfig -a
route, or route print, or ip route show
OK, here is the output of

cat /etc/ssh/sshd_config

Code:
# Package generated configuration file
# See the sshd(8) manpage for details

# What ports, IPs and protocols we listen for
Port 22
# Use these options to restrict which interfaces/protocols sshd will bind to
#ListenAddress ::
#ListenAddress 0.0.0.0
Protocol 2
# HostKeys for protocol version 2
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key
#Privilege Separation is turned on for security
UsePrivilegeSeparation yes

# Lifetime and size of ephemeral version 1 server key
KeyRegenerationInterval 3600
ServerKeyBits 768

# Logging
SyslogFacility AUTH
LogLevel INFO

# Authentication:
LoginGraceTime 120
PermitRootLogin yes
StrictModes yes

RSAAuthentication yes
PubkeyAuthentication yes
#AuthorizedKeysFile	%h/.ssh/authorized_keys

# Don't read the user's ~/.rhosts and ~/.shosts files
IgnoreRhosts yes
# For this to work you will also need host keys in /etc/ssh_known_hosts
RhostsRSAAuthentication no
# similar for protocol version 2
HostbasedAuthentication no
# Uncomment if you don't trust ~/.ssh/known_hosts for RhostsRSAAuthentication
#IgnoreUserKnownHosts yes

# To enable empty passwords, change to yes (NOT RECOMMENDED)
PermitEmptyPasswords no

# Change to yes to enable challenge-response passwords (beware issues with
# some PAM modules and threads)
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no

# Change to no to disable tunnelled clear text passwords
#PasswordAuthentication yes

# Kerberos options
#KerberosAuthentication no
#KerberosGetAFSToken no
#KerberosOrLocalPasswd yes
#KerberosTicketCleanup yes

# GSSAPI options
#GSSAPIAuthentication no
#GSSAPICleanupCredentials yes

X11Forwarding yes
X11DisplayOffset 10
PrintMotd no
PrintLastLog yes
TCPKeepAlive yes
#UseLogin no

#MaxStartups 10:30:60
#Banner /etc/issue.net

# Allow client to pass locale environment variables
AcceptEnv LANG LC_*

Subsystem sftp /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

#UsePAM yes
And this is the output of route:

Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.254.0   *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
default         192.168.254.1   0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 wlan0
Output of
ifconfig -a

Code:
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:12609 (12.3 KiB)  TX bytes:12609 (12.3 KiB)

phonet0   Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 15-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:4000  Metric:1
          RX packets:7120 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:187 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100 
          RX bytes:152828 (149.2 KiB)  TX bytes:3334 (3.2 KiB)

upnlink0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 1B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:49152  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 36:F6:2A:9E:74:0F  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:388 (388.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr A8:7B:39:DC:87:B6  
          inet addr:192.168.254.219  Bcast:192.168.254.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:887 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:811 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:510308 (498.3 KiB)  TX bytes:166707 (162.7 KiB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-1F-DF-A8-3C-E4-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
On my laptop computer the output of
ifconfig -a
gives:

Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:68:0c:62:fb  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Memory:f0600000-f0620000 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:98323 (98.3 KB)  TX bytes:98323 (98.3 KB)

usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 02:80:37:ec:02:00  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vmnet1    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:01  
          inet addr:192.168.177.1  Bcast:192.168.177.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vmnet8    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:08  
          inet addr:172.16.23.1  Bcast:172.16.23.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:6a:1e:92:86  
          inet addr:192.168.254.222  Bcast:192.168.254.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::221:6aff:fe1e:9286/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:25628 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:20439 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:23174401 (23.1 MB)  TX bytes:5773662 (5.7 MB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-21-6A-1E-92-86-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          UP RUNNING  MTU:0  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Is this a problem with my routing table?
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#7
Originally Posted by joschum View Post
Is this a problem with my routing table?
first of all it's a problem with your usb0 interfaces

neither has an IP address configured, your "/etc/network/interfaces" is probably missing some bits.
once both interfaces have the correct IPs (192.168.2.14 and .15), the routing table should be updated automatically.
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#8
When trying to log in over wireless I suggest to check how close to access point your N900 is. Once I moved my phone to the other side of the room my troubles went away. I think N900 is somewhat susceptible to near field problems.
 
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Zürich, Switzerland
#9
Originally Posted by SubCore View Post
first of all it's a problem with your usb0 interfaces

neither has an IP address configured, your "/etc/network/interfaces" is probably missing some bits.
once both interfaces have the correct IPs (192.168.2.14 and .15), the routing table should be updated automatically.
Yes, usb0 seems to be disconnected but ssh to the N900 via wireless by
ssh root@192.168.254.219
should work since both the laptop and the N900 are in the same subnet. I also moved the N900 close to the access point but it doesn`t work. ssh from the N900 to another computer works.
Any ideas?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#10
Is the routing table on your laptop correct?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46.