Active Topics

Notices

Hi all,

With rumours of an new nokia phone, this phone would have infra red camera as well.
Would it be possible to develop an app so you can film with infra red in the dark with the n900 or do you need extra hardware for that.

Thanks!

for sure you need extra hardware

Posts: 122 | Thanked: 73 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Turku, Finland
yeah, I would say you need extra hardware. I'm a hobby photographer, but I know nothing about IR photography, but that there are so called IR filters for your cameras (they cost around 200€) and when you photograph with IR you see no matter if it's too dark. The pictures are B/W as I know it, and inverted/negative... That's what I know about IR photography, and my 2 cents goes to the "you need extra hardware" pot

Posts: 270 | Thanked: 195 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Finland
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infrare...igital_cameras

Explains in detail why it'll be very hard to use the N900 or any other small portable device camera for IR photography.

Basically, IR light interferes so much digital photography that it must be blocked from entering the sensor in the first place. The fact that people can do IR photography with digital sensors is due the fact that the IR bocking was not always sufficient, like in some first gen SLRs.

Today, the IR filtering is much effective and more controlled. For doing IR photography with cameras like the one in N900, you would need to physically remove the IR filtering layer from the sensor and replace it with a visible-light filter. Also the optics aren't meant for IR frequences and don't work optimally with the software even if you could do the physical modifications necessary.

Posts: 38 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Australia
Most digital cameras (including the one on the N900) can still pick up infrared to some degree, despite the IR filter.