Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ torino - italia
#1
Hi everybody, I feel so stupid:
I added a new row in my .profile. Something like
Code:
PATH=$usr/user/MyDocs/dash/
. I dont't know exacly why I did it, but I did.
First x-terminal wasn't able to reconize any command, also sayd something: "..busybox not found...".
Then I tried to reboot the device and all I got was a black screen. Scream!
Any idea on how get out of this nigthmare???

PS In one week my N900 it's totally unuseful... I'm afraid of myself!
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#2
lol reflash the device - wiki - search for flasher
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
Posts: 90 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Sydney Australia
#3
Did you install sshd? I would think that even though the default user cannot login (hence the black screen) you should still be able to ssh in as root, since his path is not screwed, and fix it up.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to atunguyd For This Useful Post:
Posts: 287 | Thanked: 127 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Sweden
#4
Note: That'll only work if sshd is already started (otherwise it's an excellent idea)
 
Posts: 376 | Thanked: 511 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Greece
#5
Originally Posted by davide View Post
Hi everybody, I feel so stupid:
I added a new row in my .profile. Something like
Code:
PATH=$usr/user/MyDocs/dash/
. I dont't know exacly why I
Any idea on how get out of this nigthmare???
Install ssh via application manager.

From a (linux) PC run:

Code:
ssh user@n900 "mv .profile .profile.no"
This should execute the command without spawning a login shell (a.k.a. without sourcing .profile). If this fails then you can always try to set the root password (I believe that openssh asks for the root password when it is installed) and connect as root:

Code:
ssh root@n900
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to v13 For This Useful Post:
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#6
Originally Posted by v13 View Post
Install ssh via application manager.

From a (linux) PC run:

Code:
ssh user@n900 "mv .profile .profile.no"
This should execute the command without spawning a login shell (a.k.a. without sourcing .profile). If this fails then you can always try to set the root password (I believe that openssh asks for the root password when it is installed) and connect as root:

Code:
ssh root@n900
And how would he install ssh if he can't use his N900/open App manager?
 
felbutss's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 286 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Australia
#7
jesus just reflash. learn for next time.
 
Posts: 55 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ UK
#8
Originally Posted by davide View Post
Hi everybody, I feel so stupid:
I added a new row in my .profile. Something like
Code:
PATH=$usr/user/MyDocs/dash/
. I dont't know exacly why I did it, but I did.
First x-terminal wasn't able to reconize any command, also sayd something: "..busybox not found...".
Then I tried to reboot the device and all I got was a black screen. Scream!
Any idea on how get out of this nigthmare???

PS In one week my N900 it's totally unuseful... I'm afraid of myself!
If you ever want to change the path in any OS (I think this would apply to windows as well as any *nix OS), you need to add to it. What you did there was *replace* what was there with your new entry. Hence the OS (BusyBox is a Linux OS) can't find basic commands. Next time do this:
Code:
 PATH=$PATH:/my/new/path/item/
$PATH is the current value and you are appending your new value to it.
HTH

Rgrds

Filbert

Last edited by filbert; 2010-03-14 at 22:50. Reason: Improve example
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to filbert For This Useful Post:
Posts: 376 | Thanked: 511 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Greece
#9
Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
And how would he install ssh if he can't use his N900/open App manager?
Right... I missed the part of the black-screen...
 
Aranel's Avatar
Posts: 301 | Thanked: 227 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Turkey
#10
Reflashing is not the only solution I think. There should be "safe mode" -like something. Maybe R&D mode can do it for you. Even if it does not, you can boot another OS or chroot to your N900 -which I dont know how to do, btw- and repair your broken files.

on Desktop GNU/Linux, even if you mess up your boot manager, or something critical for system, you can still log-in to your system for rescue/repair using a LiveCD.

Last edited by Aranel; 2010-03-14 at 14:37.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06.