Posts: 90 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on May 2010 @ New delhi, India
I am a very new to linux and i have never used the x terminal before and i would like to know a website or any such. webpage which can teach me the proper usage and all the important commands used in x terminal

Posts: 726 | Thanked: 345 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Sweden
The commands available in the XTerminal depends on what you've installed. So, there is no "one page to learn everything" resource for that.

A quick Google search gave me this link that might work as a starting point:

http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/...and_line_intro

The Following User Says Thank You to Joorin For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
Something like this will give you a good into to the commands available. Otherwise, you can look at the busybox manual pages - the N900 uses this (an older version actually, so some of the options/commands don't work) for the basic commands. Beyond that, any general UNIX/Linux introductions will provide a lot of useful info.

Posts: 609 | Thanked: 243 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Eastern USA
Thread moved to General.

A (very long) list of terminal commands.

(Click on one of the categories)
Also, pin yourself in the map! Maemo Map. Send me a PM (Private Message) if I leave you hanging on a problem (or if you need more help).
Owner of both a N800 and N900; Active community member since Jan 2010. You've been xommified! - My blog.

The Following User Says Thank You to xomm For This Useful Post:
Posts: 431 | Thanked: 239 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ London
Any chance to collect the list of commands just for our devices here? Wiki?
I'd like to learn as well.

sudo gainroot
apt-get help

and here more or less everything is clear. But would be useful to have some kind of short description what each option actually can do.